Warsaw
"Warsaw is a work of power. It has the authentic feeling that pulses from an important book. The meticulous research and psychological insights light up one of the most ghastly episodes in the history of man's inhumanity to man."
Patrick Bishop, author of Fighter Boys and A Good War.

The Warsaw Ghetto. 1942.

Adam Duritz, a Jewish Policeman, is charged with the duty of selecting five people each day to be transported to Treblinka - or else he will be selected himself.

Thomas Abendroth is a German soldier, trying his best to retain his humanity in the inhumane ghetto. Thomas befriends Adam. Both men make enemies of other people in power though.

Yet, far more than his friendship with the German, Adam realises that his salvation resides in his love for Jessica Rubenstein. If he can save her, he may also save himself.

Their fates - and those of others - will intertwine and be decided during a climactic evening on the streets of the ghetto, where love and tragedy abound – and collide.

Warsaw is a novel which lingers long in the heart and mind. For fans of Dostoyevsky’s Crime & Punishment and Thomas Keneally’s Schindler’s Ark.

Praise for A Hero of Our Time.
'An elegant novel which is awash with both hope and tragedy. A Hero of Our Time is a must read for anyone interested in WWII or 19th Century Russian Literature.'
(Nigel Jones, author of Countdown To Valkyrie)

Praise for Raffles: The Gentleman Thief.
"Classy, humorous and surprisingly touching tales of cricket, friendship and crime."
(David Blackburn, The Spectator).

Praise for Augustus: Son of Rome.
'Augustus: Son of Rome forges action and adventure with politics and philosophy. This superb story is drenched in both blood and wisdom - and puts Foreman on the map as the coming man of historical fiction'.
(Saul David, Author of the Zulu Hart series)

About The Author.

Richard Foreman is the author of numerous best-selling Kindle books, including Augustus: Son of Rome and the Raffles series of historical crime novellas. He is also the author of A Hero of Our Time, a literary novel set during the end of the Second World War. He lives in London.

Warsaw Details

Book TitleWarsaw
Book Author
ISBN9781481120722
LanguageEnglish
FormatPaperback
Pages462
Rating
by 106 users

Warsaw Reviews

  • Mrs L Brechin
    Jul 18, 2017

    Mrs L Brechin

    I would have enjoyed this story but the spelling and grammar mistakes were really bad. Also there was no clear distinction when the story moved to a new setting or character so it hot a bit confusing. A shame really! I wondered who edited it because they spoiled the enjoyment of this s...

  • Ian Colville
    Mar 23, 2017

    Ian Colville

    I don't really know how I got so far into this before I put it aside, but it became a matter of time only before my stubbornness not to fail to finish ran out and I gave in. I used to pride myself on never having not finished a book, but these days, I've got better things to do - bette...

  • Vicki
    Jan 22, 2017

    Vicki

    No rating as I gave up less than halfway through. Felt that the writing did not do the subject justice and I couldn't continue. ...

  • Dan Leslie
    Oct 3, 2016

    Dan Leslie

    Good read but poor editing.Good read but many spelling and grammatical errors. Also poor spelling. Took awhile to follow the thread of this novel. ...

  • Linda Books
    Nov 23, 2015

    Linda Books

    I slogged all the way through this because on some level I guess I wanted to see how it turned out. Not because I found any of the characters appealing, other than perhaps the really unlikely Good German Wehrmacht officer. There were a number of inconsistencies and anachronisms in this...

  • MeriBeth
    Oct 13, 2015

    MeriBeth

    They say this is a book that lingers in the heart and mind; however, it only lingers because you wonder how it managed to get published in the first place. The writing was bad and, as another said, trivialized the suffering of the inhabitants of the Warsaw ghetto. I finally had to give...

  • Matthew Barlow
    Oct 2, 2015

    Matthew Barlow

    A heartbreaking account of life in the Warsaw ghetto that uses a mix of historical fiction and fact to bring to life the relationship between the Jewish captives, the unrelenting SS, and the the powerless Wermarcht troops.The book itself suffers from a slow start that will undoubtedly ...

  • Sara
    Aug 5, 2013

    Sara

    Got through a quarter of the book but could not make myself continue. The writing is poor - author used 10 words when a single would suffice and he was very stingy with commas, which made reading the text a chore. And the characters were all unappealing - a self-involved Jewish policem...

  • Tina Milledge
    Jan 5, 2013

    Tina Milledge

    Despite being an area of personal interest for fiction and nonfiction alike, I found myself skipping chunks. Overall I liked the storyline, it just didn't hold my interest throughout. ...