All the Bright Places
The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

All the Bright Places Details

Book TitleAll the Bright Places
Book Author
ISBN9780385755887
LanguageEnglish
FormatHardcover
Pages378
Rating
by 110,146 users

All the Bright Places Reviews

  • Aj the Ravenous Reader
    Oct 12, 2016

    Aj the Ravenous Reader

    "The great thing about this life of ours is that you can be someone different to everybody." I’ve never felt more conflicted in deciding how to rate a book until this one. Most of my friends who have known me long enough know how much I love YA contemporaries and how I usually ...

  •    Maggie
    Aug 14, 2016

    Maggie

    You have to live your life like you'll never be sorry. It's easier just to do the right thing from the start so there's nothing to apologize for. Trigger Warning: Suicide, depression, abuse, anxiety.You know those kind of books that leave you wondering Where the hell have I been? and ...

  • Lola  Reviewer
    Jul 23, 2016

    Lola Reviewer

    Finch and Violet are two very different persons. She is popular, down to earth and is trying to please everyone. He’s the ‘‘Freak’’, careless and doesn’t know or acknowledge how the many things he does every day might hurt people around him. (Or maybe he d...

  • Lisa Johnson
    Apr 22, 2016

    Lisa Johnson

    “It’s my experience that people are a lot more sympathetic if they can see you hurting, and for the millionth time in my life I wish for measles or smallpox or some other easily understood disease, just to make it easier on me and also on them.” Wow. Okay. This book a...

  • Brian Yahn
    Mar 25, 2016

    Brian Yahn

    All the Bright Places is the story of how Theodore Finch and Ultraviolet are brought together by death--which would be gloomy, except the two personalities bloom, becoming something beautiful, as their wondrous adventures bring them closer together. Jennifer Niven takes a girl meets bo...

  • Christy
    Feb 7, 2016

    Christy

    5 stars! This year instead of having New Years resolutions I won’t keep, I decided to make book goals and one of those goals was to read more YA. 25 is my goal for the year. This was the first on my list this year and it blew me away! For real, I had ALL THE FEELS while reading t...

  • Wendy Darling
    Feb 4, 2016

    Wendy Darling

    I think this may end up being a DNF for me; consider this a prelimary reaction as I put it on hold. I've only read a few chapters so far, but I'm struggling with the quirky/cute style married with a subject as serious as suicide. I mean, are we going to see self-mutilation or child abu...

  • April (Aprilius Maximus)
    Jan 27, 2016

    April (Aprilius Maximus)

    Seeing other people's reviews on this book that I really trust made me realise a lot of things that I don't really agree with. Right at the time I was reading this, I felt like I could really relate to the main characters and their depression and I think that's why I thought I loved it...

  • Jillian (bookishandnerdy)
    Jan 27, 2016

    Jillian (bookishandnerdy)

    Ehhhhh looking back on this...it's incredibly problematic. I DID connect on a personal level at points but that's it. Looking back on this..it romanticizes mental illness badly. I feel like the writing was emotionally manipulative now that I've had a WHOLE YEAR to think about. I mean i...

  • Darth J
    Jan 21, 2016

    Darth J

    Where to begin? I heard great things about this but I should have stayed away. VioletI feel like she only really existed here to be the emotional component of this book. She's used as a prop mostly and a prize, yet I never saw her as having any personality beyond just being a sounding ...