The Book of Mistakes
Zoom meets Beautiful Oops! in this memorable picture book debut about the creative process, and the way in which "mistakes" can blossom into inspiration

One eye was bigger than the other. That was a mistake.
The weird frog-cat-cow thing? It made an excellent bush.
And the inky smudges... they look as if they were always meant to be leaves floating gently across the sky.

As one artist incorporates accidental splotches, spots, and misshapen things into her art, she transforms her piece in quirky and unexpected ways, taking readers on a journey through her process. Told in minimal, playful text, this story shows readers that even the biggest "mistakes" can be the source of the brightest ideas--and that, at the end of the day, we are all works in progress, too.

Fans of Peter Reynolds's Ish and Patrick McDonnell's A Perfectly Messed-Up Story will love the funny, poignant, completely unique storytelling of The Book of Mistakes. And, like Oh, The Places You'll Go!, it makes the perfect graduation gift, encouraging readers to have a positive outlook as they learn to face life's obstacles.

The Book of Mistakes Details

Book TitleThe Book of Mistakes
Book Author
ISBN9780735227927
FormatHardcover
Pages56
Rating
by 495 users

The Book of Mistakes Reviews

  • Ana Marlatt
    Jul 26, 2017

    Ana Marlatt

    A quick picture book with a huge and timely message. I can think of many ways to use this book with kids and teachers. Goes along with growth mindset and being kind to yourself and the mistakes we all make. ...

  • S.Michelle
    Jul 20, 2017

    S.Michelle

    A cute story about how sometimes even mistakes can turn into successes. ...

  • Salamah
    Jul 10, 2017

    Salamah

    Wonderful Story! Luyken has created a very special story from beginning to end using a simple drawing that looks like a mistake but ends up being something very unique. The ending was magnificent and I almost shed a tear. For if only we can view our mistakes as just part of our journey...

  • Carol Scrimgeour
    Jul 7, 2017

    Carol Scrimgeour

    I too was thinking of Istvan Banyai and Zoom and Re-Zoom as I was reading this clever book. There's no real plot to speak of but it's fascinating to turn the pages and see what develops. ...

  • Lynn
    Jul 6, 2017

    Lynn

    Once the reader figures out what the story line is (and that will be an appropriate challenge) s/he will have fun predicting how the next 'mistake' can be made useful.Lots of white space keeps the focus on each image, and good contrast with a few pages containing large, intricate detai...

  • Heather
    Jun 25, 2017

    Heather

    "It started with one mistake." My children's book recommendation this week is The Book of Mistakes by Corinna Luyken. The ink, colored pencil, and watercolor illustrations are beautifully rendered, and the message even moreso. In her debut book, Luyken conveys how something that at fir...

  • Erin
    Jun 24, 2017

    Erin

    The illustrations shine with line drawings and ink blots, and colored pencil-looking shadings. Besides the glorious pictures I love the core premise that we are all built on mistakes. Each mistake can turn into something positive, and even big mistakes turn into tiny problems in the gr...

  • Rebecca
    Jun 21, 2017

    Rebecca

    I don't want to spoil the delights of these page turns too much, but definitely hand this to a kid who frets over drawing "right" or making mistakes. It's a perfect depiction of the creative process in action. Keep the options open and who knows what you will end up with."Do you see --...

  • Laura
    Jun 16, 2017

    Laura

    What a creatively odd, little, book! ...

  • JennE
    Jun 9, 2017

    JennE

    Similar theme to Beautiful OOPs, The Dot, Ish, Zoom, Re-Zoom and even Fortunately, The Book of Mistakes takes the reader on a journey to dispel quick judgements and assumptions. It begins with a mistake.. but hey, turn that blob into a cap....it's all in how you look at things. Half e...