I Am, I Am, I Am
A BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week

'O'Farrell takes up a bow and arrow and aims at the human heart' The Times

'A life-enhancing two-fingers to death... mesmerising' The Sunday Times

I AM, I AM, I AM is a memoir with a difference - the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woman's life in near-death experiences. Intelligent, insightful, inspirational, it is a book to be read at a sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life's fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. Shocking, electric, unforgettable, this is the extraordinary memoir from Costa Novel-Award winner and Sunday Times bestselling author Maggie O'Farrell.

It is a book to make you question yourself. What would you do if your life was in danger, and what would you stand to lose?

I AM, I AM, I AM will speak to readers who loved Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Max Porter's GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS.

I Am, I Am, I Am Details

Book TitleI Am, I Am, I Am
Book Author
ISBN9781472240743
LanguageEnglish
Pages304
Rating
by 0 user

I Am, I Am, I Am Reviews

  • Lauren
    Dec 31, 1969

    Lauren

    WHAT A PHENOMENAL AND BREATH-TAKING READ!!! I Am, I Am, I Am by Maggie O'Farrell is a beautifully written, emotionally-wrenching and poetically-haunting story. I very rarely read non-fiction but when I heard about this book, I knew I had to have it. It follows Maggie's life from childh...

  • Jaclyn Crupi
    Dec 31, 1969

    Jaclyn Crupi

    Although I love the idea of exploring a life through brushes with death I think reading this book in one sitting was a bad idea. Maggie O'Farrell has had more than her fair share of near death experiences! This memoir is gripping and intense but I found, as I read it, it had a distanci...

  • Sarah Turner
    Dec 31, 1969

    Sarah Turner

    I had initially been sceptical about a memoir from a fiction writer. Have really enjoyed O'Farrell's fiction writing but couldn't see why I would want to read about her own life....And to anyone else who might be thinking the same - it is because her writing is extraordinary; at times ...

  • Frances Wilde
    Dec 31, 1969

    Frances Wilde

    Was so blown away by this book. Just picked it up randomly in a bookshop and it spoke to me so much.In reading it I had to face some of my biggest anxieties but the book was handled so well, so sensitively and so genuinely that it was difficult not to be completely drawn in. It says so...

  • Ellis Moore
    Dec 31, 1969

    Ellis Moore

    Another physical book my eyes have enjoyed – not only for this books beautiful cover and illustrations on chapter pages, but also because Maggie O’Farrell’s memoir of near death experiences is literally as gripping as reading a page turning thriller.I Am, I Am, I Am is t...

  • Karen
    Dec 31, 1969

    Karen

    A very different book from Maggie O'Farrell that takes the reader as described through 17 Brushes With Death. The brushes with death are classified by organs or organ systems. As ever the writing is glorious. Characters are defined with minimum words. I am struggling to find the most a...

  • Kiran Hargrave
    Dec 31, 1969

    Kiran Hargrave

    Astonishingly moving - I finished with tears in my eyes and goosebumps up my arms. ...

  • Wendy Greenberg
    Dec 31, 1969

    Wendy Greenberg

    An unusually presented autobiography/memoir that describes the brushes with death that have defined the author's life. We are presented a pottered, underskirt of biography because the narrative is episodic and does not follow a linear timeline. I think this really makes this a mastercl...

  • Taylor Berry
    Dec 31, 1969

    Taylor Berry

    This is one of those magical books that you devour and then want to pass on to everyone you know. I Am, I Am, I am consists of Maggie O'Farrell telling the story of 17 different times that she's faced death, going all the way from her early childhood to her experiences as a mother. I'v...

  • Katie Fellows
    Dec 31, 1969

    Katie Fellows

    Really hard to review this, feel very confused upon finishing the book. The last couple of stories are beautifully written and executed but there was something about some of the previous ones which have left me puzzled. Contemplating reading it backwards to see if this changes my view....